MacKay Queensland Australia

So after the drive from Bowen to MacKay I tried to book my remaining days into some accommodation. My plan was to stay with Jo in MacKay for a couple of nights and then via Cape Hillsborough and Eungela to Airlie Beach. Unfortunately Cape Hillsborough was all booked out. Furthermore, as things had changed concerning the working times of Jo’s daughter it would be a lot of driving up and down back to Proserpine. So Jo offered me to stay a bit longer and we tried to get the car a day earlier and also to take it back to Proserpine rather then MacKay ( which was originally booked as it was so much cheaper and also because they didn’t have smaller cars, Jo’s daughter take me back to Proserpine after, a bit complicated) Anyhow, we managed to get the car earlier and also a small car and returning to Proserpine! Result!

So, the first day, as I didn’t have the car yet Jo drove me here, there and everywhere. We went to some beautiful beaches, the lookout and of course my fav swimming pool The Bluewater Lagoon. Love it there! No stingers and beautifully warm water. Also one night, I took Jo out for a meal.

Then yesterday I picked up the car at MacKay airport ( of course Jo dropped me off)

And I took a lovely day trip to Cape Hillsborough. I love it there so much! The beach is pristine, there are wallaby’s on the beach and the forests and hills surrounding are beautiful! There is a small island connected to the beach by a course-way and you can reach the island only by low tide. I’ve been twice now and never managed but this time I was in luck! And as I was eating my lunch a wallaby was right by my side! After lunch I had a great walk over the beach and to the island. And later I tried out another beach nearby, one I did not go to before. All in all a lovely day.

Today I took it a bit easier. First a swim in the lagoon, then shopping and eating sushi in the big mall. Then the art space and finished of with a nice walk at the beach with Jo, walking the dog.

And then, after diner, packed my bag and ready to go to Airlie Beach tomorrow

Plaats een reactie